FT CAD Gremlin
Staff member
Admin
Mentor
BABY BARON
Mighty Mini Sized Combat (Yeah Baby!)
2015-05-07 06.45.58.jpg

DETAILS

This is my first attempt at scaling down a plane. I randomly chose to start at 60% scale of the Bloody Baron. I fully expected to end up having to scale up slightly, especially after building the prototype...it's so TINY! Well, the results were better than I ever imagined. This thing performs a lot like it's big bloody brother! Another happy accident! :D

It uses the same power setup as the FT Mighty Mini series, and can use the same power pod as the Mini Scout and Mini Speedster. It has nearly unlimited vertical on a 2S setup. I have not tried it on 3S (no 3S batteries small enough to test at the moment), but I'm guessing it will be pretty ballistic on that setup.​

PLANS

SPECIFICATIONS

WINGSPAN:18 in457 mm
LENGTH:15 1/2 in394 mm
WING AREA:89.5 in25.8 dm2
WEIGHT (AUW):5.3 oz.150 g
WING LOADING:8.53 oz./ft225.9 g/dm2
WCL:10.8
CHANNELS:3
CONTROLS:Aileron, Elevator, Throttle

ELECTRONICS

MOTOR:Emax MT 1804
ESC:Turnigy Plush 12amp
BATTERY:450-800 mah 2S
PROPELLER:6 X 5 SF (GWS EP 6050)
SERVOS:2 X 5g (hekTronix HXT500)

SETTINGS
Ailerons : 40% Expo : 50%
Elevator : 40% Expo : 50%

IMAGES

2015-03-31 20.04.35.jpg

That's a ParkZone UMX Spitfire on the left, Baby Baron prototype on the right.
I told you it was TINY!

2015-04-26 11.10.03.jpg

The "mini me" of the Bloody Baron!​

FLIGHT VIDEO

This is my second flight with the prototype Baby Baron. My cameraman was off taking flying lessons so I got no video of the maiden flight.

Flight video of Keegan stress testing his backpackable (could be a word, who knows?) prototype (removable wing and vertical stabilizer). More details on his buld will be coming soon. I'm happy to report that it performed incredibly well. As you will see in this video, Keegan is a much better pilot than I am.

Extra background commentary from my brother-in-law and nephew. ;)

Maiden flight for version 1.1

BUILD LOG