Best EDF jet for a begginger

LukeJ

Hi. Im looking to fly and build my first EDF jet and dont know which one to buy. I would really like one to be under 200 USD that already comes with the radio and everything. Do you know any good kits for me to build? If so please send the link. Thank you so much.

Dunfielder

Hi, I’m a noob myself. From my understanding EDF jets are really not a good starting point for beginners. Very fast, very twitchy, don’t really like to fly slow. All bad things when starting out. Might want to try a more conventional style RC aircraft first. Then you’ll have some skills before trying to fly an EDF jet. Do you have any experience?

Dunfielder

Yes Ive flown regular rc planes you would get for chirstmas and stuff

So is that like large model planes or little tiny micro ones? Warbirds, trainers? I am starting with a low wing warbird and that's usually not recommended. But I believe that starting with EDF jets, especially something your gonna spend a couple hundred buck on is a really bad idea. Check out youtube vids of total beginners on EDF jets. It never ends well. I'd hate to see you out a bunch of cash and only a pile of confetti and a radio to show for it.

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
for what is is worth "with radio and everything"
the cheapest radio I have seen was about $60 for TX + RX, most EDFs use fairly big batteries, etc. I don't think $200 is even a reasonable price range to look at for an EDF if your including your TX/RX in that total.

Honestly, if you don't have a TX (IE your needs a radio requirement), I question how much experience you have flying. And everything that Dunfielder said about what happens.

As you can see in my signature, I crashed my trainning plan (Tiny Trainer) so had and so many times that I have had to completely rebuild it 3x times in the time it took me to get to were I could fly it without crashing.

Dunfielder