BJ-J3 Cub - NOT a Failure Story - Plans and Build Instructions

BanditJacksRC

1Final LeftIso8.jpg 3FinalBackIso5.jpg 5FinalTail6.jpg

I want to start off by saying- This is FT forum community is awesome. This thread is a perfect example of how the members are always willing to contribute whatever they can to help others.

This is my first attempt at making my own set of actual plans for the forum and was def. having some issues.
I started by importing a 3-View of the J-3 in to Microsoft Publisher and going from there!
Pubpic1.png Pub pic3.png View attachment 41050

My 1st beta build maiden went horribly. The plane would pretty much take off, dart to the left and into the ground. I figured this was only a thrust angle issue, and with the 2nd beta maiden I added a ton of thrust angle (down and left), but that didn't help anything.
The plane flew extremely erratically and I ended up landing about 30ft high at the top of a tree. I had to carry my huge extension ladder about 3 block to the park and spent about 45 min climbing to the top of the tree and trying to get the damned thing down... I eventually got it , but what a night!
P1020747.JPG
Needless to say it was scrapped.

After a ton of help from the community, I was able to make some changes and get this plane flying great. See for yourself!

BJ-J3 Cub - Plans and Build Instructions

PLANS:
FULL: View attachment J3 Plans - FINAL.pdf
TILED: View attachment PiperCubTiled.pdf

Specs:
Wingspan: 40"
Length: 25 1/2"
Swappable: Yes
AUW: 510 grams
(w/o battery and with landing gear)
Channel: 4 Channel

Electronics Used in Video:
Motor: NTM 28-26 1200kv 258W
ESC: 30A Turn Plush
Battery: 3s 2200mAh
Prop: APC 8x6

Building Instructions (step by steps):
Wing Build: View attachment Wing Build Instructions.pdf
Fuse Build: View attachment Fuse Build Instructions.pdf
Rudd. & Elv. Stabilizers: View attachment Rudder & Elevator Build Instructions.pdf
Final Assembly: View attachment Final Assembly Instructions.pdf

Maiden Video: