Building an open source flight log website with web app, need beta testers & opinions

StuartPB

Building an open source flight log website with web app, need beta testers & opinions

I'm really new to the rc flight hobby but I'm a web developer by trade. I want to be able to record my flights and share my experiences as I learn and progress through the hobby. So it made sense for me to use the web to do that. I'm currently in the early development stages of building a new website from which I can save information on my aeroplanes, equipment and to log flights. I'll also be able to keep a blog on the site, so hopefully it's a great way to share the experiences. Once the website is built I'll then be creating a web app from which I can record flight logs in the field from my phone and it will be saved into the website's database. I've looked around for something similar but the options that were there were quite dated in terms of functionality and also web standards wise.

I've got two options for this project, either make it a closed system or open it out as a membership system. Either way I'm not doing this to make money, it's a side project for me. If it does go down the membership route, there will be no charges made for this. If it goes down the closed system route, I'd make a package where people could download the site and the database to install on their own web hosting server so they can have their own site. Whichever way it goes, it will be open source. If Flite Test want to make use of it too, they are more than welcome.

I want to create a list of beta testers for when it reaches the beta stage of development. Ideally for now, I'd like a maximum of 10 and a minimum of 5 people to test out the site. If anyone is interested in trying the site and then the app, please do let me know. I'm expecting to be in early Beta within the next month.