Can you get more channels off an FC? I'm confused on the Rx to FC Relationship.

Ducky84

I'm very new to RC and I'm trying to plan out my first fixed wing build.

I've done a ton of research, and watched a lot of youtube videos (Thank you Painless360) but the area I'm hung up on is the Rx, somewhat related the FC.

I'm wanting to pick up a Crossfire setup with a Radiomaster Tx16s using a Matek FC.

I'm wanting around 8 channels for what I hope to accomplish. I was looking at the TBS Crossfire 6ch PWM Nano RX. But it's a 6 channel receiver. Also their other Receivers minus the $100+ dollar one are all 6 Channel or less.

But in various Youtube videos I've seen, it almost seems like you can also hook up servos to your FC and gain additional channels. There's a communication mechanism such as SBUS or CSRF that I've heard about for connecting the FC to the Rx...But does this allow gain you additional channels?

I just don't know that I fully understand the FC and Rx relationship well enough to pick out a Crossfire Rx setup that works for what I want to accomplish. Just looking for some guidance.

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
There is 2 different things here... the channel count from your TX to the RX -> Flight controller.
Then the channel count between the flight controller -> control surfaces/motors.

I happen to have spectrum stuff and my serial receiver can do as many channels as my TX can send at it. It looks like you picked out a receiver designed for when you don't have a flight controller. Don't use that one, get a serial receiver, which will let you get basically all your channels from your TX to the flight controller.

Then you have your output channels on your flight controller, which will be the limitation on how many things you can connect to it.