• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Carbon Cub GPS Problems

I need help. I am new to flying planes. I am having a terrible time, problem with the Carbon Cub S+. I am on my 2nd one in 3 weeks and keep having trouble with the gps and loosing communication with the air plane. I flew yesterday and had 3 really great flights with no problems at all. Range check was done and worked fine, everything done just as the instruction manual said to do, went to fly today and as soon as I got in the air I lost communication with the plane and off it went to who knows where. No matter what I did it would not respond. I called horizon hobbies and they could not give me a good answer as to why this happened with 2 different Carbon cubs. The only thing in common with each plane was the radio, a spektrum dxe that came with the first Carbon Cub. Like I said I am new to flying planes but have been taken by them and I don't want to quit but I am very frustrated and would appreciate any help, answers that anyone can give me. Is there a better first plane trainer out there that anyone would recommend????? Thanks

I had a champ S+ that flew away , I got the Carbon Cub S+ to replace it. The more I flew it the more I worried about it leaving. I took the GPS module out of mine. It still has SAFE but no GPS functions. I like the plane and never used the auto land so it worked out for me. I think the SAFE function is good for a person learning on his own but the GPS system is not ready for prime time.

Merv