Delta Ray Supersized!

FlyGonz

Hello everyone!

I have been searching high and low for any upgrades and/or modifications to the Delta Ray. I have already done a brushless upgrade to it, as its the only upgrade/mod I have found. What I really want to do now is MAKE IT BIGGER! I have been looking at all the dollar tree foam board projects online and all the cool things you can do. I have been trying to figure out a way to either add shaped foam to the Delta Ray fuselage or just build an entirely new airframe to resemble it.

If anyone has plans or ideas as to how I can make my Delta Ray bigger, or how to build a scratch one easy, please let me know. I should also mention that I am new to the hobby and have experience flying but not much when it comes to building/moding. Any tips or advice is welcome.

P.S. I saw how Flite Test builds their planes, folding wings etc., and I am not a fan of that method. Metal Aviation on Facebook uses a stacking then cutting the foam method, which I think may be easier.

The FT methods are quite good. With stacking, you end up up with more weight because you have no void area. The FT designs use the shapes to help make the structure rigid And still allow a lot of void space to keep it light. You might look at some of the FT techniques and see if they would be adaptable to a larger delta ray-ish type plane. For that matter, the Versa wing is a good flying wing.

FlyGonz

I was thinking about 52 inch wingspan-ish as opposed tot he standard 32inch. I also thought of extending the length of fuselage by about 5-7 inches.

With regards to stacking, I was actually looking for more weight overall because of the upgraded brushless, it makes the plane struggle with the light weight design. I also want something more rigid that can fair better in the wind.

BrendanD