First Balsa Kit - SIG Four-Star ep20 Build Log

bliss224

Hi all,

I am a new flyer from NY who, like many of us, was brought into the hobby by Flite test's awesome videos. Like most of us the cold and wind have stopped me from continuing my flight training so I decided to get started on some projects for the winter. I love my foamies (champ, supercub s, FMS Cessna 182) but have always wanted to get into building and flying balsa and wood aircraft ARFS and kits. I just finished building my Sig Senior Sport ARF and have decided to give the SIG Four-Star ep20 kit a try. Just as a disclaimer this plane may be above my flying abilities at the moment but I am looking for a club to join in the spring so i can ask an instructor(I am self taught) to guide me with my new nitro sig senior sport and this four star. Progress is slow as I am learning as I go but here is what I have done so far.

Sig Four Star Wing.jpg
Completed Wing. As of the time of this post I have finished sanding the leading and trailing edges of the wing and will post pictures of it shortly.

abieex

Mentor
Nice job so far. Remember, this is not a sprint. Take your time and you will be rewarded with a nice flying plane.

AkimboGlueGuns

Biplane Guy
Mentor
This will be a fun one. 4-stars have a very good reputation with pilots as being a fun plane with very few bad tendencies. Just keep everything straight and you'll be fine.

Balsa to Foam

A Jack of All Planes!!!
I have a four star 20 and i love it but use a 200 to 250 watt motor or else it is an absolute rocket, it repairs well too:rolleyes:

bliss224

I have a four star 20 and i love it but use a 200 to 250 watt motor or else it is an absolute rocket, it repairs well too:rolleyes: