FTCA

Apettifer

Hi complete newbie here. I've been flying for a couple months and really having a ball! Just saw video about FTCA and interested in participating. Though following the links from the YT vid I did not see a sign up page. Any help?
Thanks!
AP

Crow929

The video and link are full of acronyms without explanation.
The video never mentions what FTCA stands for, luckily the web page mentions it at the bottom.
One of the perks for being a FTCA member is access to FTCA FRIA's? Would love to know what this is. You also get CBO membership, whatever that stands for. Why is this so sloppily done?

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
The video never mentions what FTCA stands for, luckily the web page mentions it at the bottom.
One of the perks for being a FTCA member is access to FTCA FRIA's? Would love to know what this is. You also get CBO membership, whatever that stands for. Why is this so sloppily done?

I suspect this was mostly targeting people who already know what all those acronyms are for. Anyone that has been following the hobby for the last year would know CBO (community based organization) and FRIA (FAA-Recognized Identification Area) as they have been all over the FAA proposed regulation and "everyone" has been talking about them. FTCA (Flite Test Community Association) has been talked about on and off on Flite Test's stuff for a while (to my understanding - since the whole CBO/FRIA stuff started being talked about).

Your correct in that making those more clear for people new to the hobby would have been useful and hopefully the team will remember to define the acronyms in the future.

sprzout

Knower of useless information
Mentor

FTCA - Flite Test Community Association
CBO - Community Based Organization (this is like the AMA, an organization that can open a FRIA with the FAA on your behalf).