Getting satisfactory results with MonoKote

Hi all. I'm a new builder, built a tissue covered rubber powered plane winter before last, have built a couple FT foamboard planes and now am trying to finish up a Hobbyking Sunbird sailplane. This is my first foray into ironing on coating. I've done the fuselage and tail pieces with no trouble.

It's the wing that is giving me fits. I've intended to make the front portion of the wing- from the spar forward white and I'm having trouble getting the Kote to stick to the spar. It tries to pull off when I go to shrink it. I've done each wing half in 4 pieces (2 top & 2 bottom) because my first attempt to do it in 2 failed at the bend point.

Would I be better off changing my scheme to get 1 color from leading edge to trailing edge? Maybe making the contrasting colors split front to back instead of down the spar? I realize now I couldn't have picked a more difficult wing to cover for a first attempt.

Would love advise from minds immeasurably smarter than mine.

Joker 53150

Mmmmmmm, balsa.
Mentor
One thought would be to attach the two pieces of covering to each other BEFORE putting them on the wing. You'd make sure that they are bonded well, and don't use too much heat in this process. When you later shrink the covering be careful to not apply too much heat to the area where the colors overlap.

Are you trying to shrink the first covering before applying the second? That could also be a problem as the cover sticks better to more covering than it does to balsa.

Also, be careful when shrinking the covering on that wing! The SunBird's wing could be easily warped or broken by over-shrinking. Warpage can be removed, but broken balsa needs surgery to fix.