Good morning from a sunny New Zealand.

chrisvdv

I am a complete newbie to the hobby that stumbled on this forum and then the Flight Test shop, just to see what it is all about. Then it happened:

My name is.... and I am an rc plane-aholic....... please help!!!!

Help number 1: Can I skin a completed foam board build with coloured duct tape? Will it have any negative or adverse handling characteristics on the plane?

On the foam board I used it's not possible to remove the paper, so I have to skin on top of the paper.

Thanks

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
I am a complete newbie to the hobby that stumbled on this forum and then the Flight Test shop, just to see what it is all about. Then it happened:

My name is.... and I am an rc plane-aholic....... please help!!!!

Help number 1: Can I skin a completed foam board build with coloured duct tape? Will it have any negative or adverse handling characteristics on the plane?

On the foam board I used it's not possible to remove the paper, so I have to skin on top of the paper.

Thanks
Duct tape might be a little heavy especially on small planes but there are coloured packing tapes around which are quite light.

As for the removal of the paper here are a few posts where the, "Impossible to remove", paper is successfully removed using various techniques.

https://forum.flitetest.com/index.php?threads/quick-tip-involving-the-new-foam.32740/#post-329044
https://forum.flitetest.com/index.php?threads/ft-foam-board-weight.56039/#post-437022

have a read!

Welcome to the forum!

have fun!

Headbang

Master member
As stated before, but I am stressing it. Colored duct tape is way to heavy. Last plane I saw someone cover it in colored duct tape was a ft spitfire. It took 2 2200mah 3s batteries as far forward as possible to balance. Flew like a brick. Took a lot of effort to hand launch. On the bright side it did not acknowledge wind!

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member