Hello From Salt Lake City & Transmitter help

jazz89trumpet

Hey All,

I'm new to the flite test world. The most I have flown is air hogs helis and an Intuit beginner quad. I would like to get into DIY planes and Quads and would like to know a little more about the transmitters. I've watch some of the flite test beginner videos (specifically episode 8 - transmitters) and have learned about the different features at different levels, but I don't know anything about quadcopter transmitters. Are they even different?

For planes I would like a transmitter that has hi and low rates and elevon mixing. I have been looking at the spektrum DX5e which looks like a decent intro transmitter with decently priced receivers. I don't really know any other brands though. What brands do you guys like to use and is there a better beginner transmitter out there of should I start with the spectrum DX5e? What brands and features should I look for when looking choosing a quad transmitter?

Can't wait to start building and flying!

-Jazz

Last edited:

pressalltheknobs

Posted a thousand or more times
There are some dedicated quad transmitters but quads to not require anything special so its better to get a more general transmitter imo. The main feature people want with quads is telemetry to tell them when the flight battery is low

Basic thing to decide is if you want to fly the popular Spektrum BNFs.

If so then consider the 6CH DX6e for around $150 (more with a receiver) which has telementy or maybe a 6CH DX6 for $200 (more with a receiver) since it adds voice alerts and diversity so should perform a bit better

If your budget does not extend to that then a used DX6i for <$100 gets you a fairly decent 6 channel radio but no telemetry. Make sure to get a DSMX one with the X on the front...avoid the older DSM2 only version

Personally I would avoid the DXe. It's a hybrid of non programmable and programmable without being cheap enough to justify its inconvenience and no telemetry.