Improvisation plane

gabrielete

Hello,
I decided to design my first plane. These are the requirements:
  • I want it to be floaty. Old Fogey style.
  • Three channels
  • I spend all day with computers at work, so no CAD, no computer design.

After some research on the internet and after applying some formulas I really didn't understand, I came up with these numbers:
  • Weight: 600g
  • Wing surface: 28dm2
  • 1.5m x 20cm

I started drawing the wings: 3 parts of 0.5m and 4cm of dihedral, or polihedral or whatever you call that...

Wing plans:
CAM00278.jpg

The rips:
CAM00279.jpg

I haven't decided yet what to do with the fuselage, but something will come....

Post edition

Final result
View attachment 53218

IMG_20150909_204010580.jpg

Maiden

Last edited:

gabrielete

Some progress has been done... Wing finished, only wingtips are left...
IMG_20150818_232141218.jpg
IMG_20150818_232236030.jpg

First sketch of the fuselage:
IMG_20150818_232150109_HDR.jpg

Last edited:

RAM

Posted a thousand or more times
I've never built with balsa but I am wondering why you need all those ribs? Seems like you could get away with less and save a little weight.

gabrielete

I've never built with balsa but I am wondering why you need all those ribs? Seems like you could get away with less and save a little weight.

Yeah you are right, it's my first design and I just drew the rips on the paper without questioning if it was too much or too little. Anyway it's already done so...

When I finish the wood work if I see it's too heavy I can cut some rips...

5 rips weigth 4g, so it's 0.8g per rip. I think I can cut 7*3 rips so I can save 16g and wing is actually 130g

Last edited:

gabrielete

The tail is going to have a triangular section, the rest I haven't decided yet. The wingtips are finished and the central part of the wing is reinforced to attach it with rubber bands.
2015-08-21 (1).jpg

2015-08-21 (2).jpg

earthsciteach