"Is it me or the plane?"

Wildblue2u

Wildblue2u
I admit that I am a newbie, but I have alittle experience with RC planes, and I am a full scale pilot. I recently built a FT Mini Trainer and I thought I set-up the CG properly, with slight nose down. So I made an attempt to maiden yesterday with a couple of glide tests, which didn't go very far, and seemed to dive towards ground. So my first thought was that since I have the battery installed and within CG that my toss didn't have enough airspeed to over come the weight and it stalled, hence the apparent dive towards ground. So I powered up, face into the wind and tossed again. This time it pitched up, broke left and dived into the ground. I need to fix the power pod some and there a a few crinkles to forward fuselage, but over not the worse for where. Now mind you I am doing this on my own, I work a lot and have little time to drive to the local RC field and hook up with more experienced RC pilot, but I felt I could handle this. Looks like I may be wrong with this assumption. Now I realize that without visually seeing what I am doing and thoughts of what I may be doing incorrect would be pure speculation, but I would appreciate any feedback. When launching a FT Mini Trainer is there some trick to avoid a pitch up and apparent stall right and launch? Is the some trick to CG that I am missing? Should I be a bit more aggressive with the toss at launch to get more airspeed? Any suggestions?

Also, if anyone happens to be on Oahu, Hawaii I'd appreciate a shout out. Looking for FT fans on the island and sources of foam board here. I have check with R L Adams and there are plans to have their products on Amazon. And any attempts to ship Adams products to Hawaii from themrequire a pallet load as a minimum.

Regards,

Don

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor
Hi Don,