Looking for an entry level FPV (cheap transmitter+twitch broadcasting)

we6jbo

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for a good FPV setup. I am a ham radio operator with a technical license.

My initial plan is to use a FPV setup on one of the DIY starter planes and then to gradually go up from there. However one of my biggest concerns is that the transmitter and camera do not cost a lot. I've already lost one drone and my fear is that I do not want to start losing a bunch more costing me hundreds of dollars. In addition, I'd like a FPV setup that is reliable and has GPS built in if possible.

The other thing that I would really like to do with FPV is to record with it and possibly do live video broadcasts/streaming to something like twitch or an external website.

Thank you,

Jeremiah O'Neal,
San Diego, CA

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor
Hi Jeremiah,

What kind of FPV flying would you like to do. Are you looking for hands on racing and aerobatics, or are you looking for a slower stabilized camera platform. Also what is your desire for having a GPS on board. Are you just looking for something that can return to home, or something with position hold, autonomous features, etc. The only drones that I know of that can livestream are commercial options like DJI. If you are building your own you could however look into receiving FPV video on your computer and livestreaming from there.

we6jbo

Hi Snarls,

I'm not sure what the limit is however I'm thinking about using FPV on one of these or something comparable here:

https://store.flitetest.com/starter-bundles-diy-airplanes/c12725

As for what I'd like to do with it. Again, not knowing the limits on those airplanes, I would like to fly it line of sight for about .7miles out or further if that's possible.

The GPS is mainly so that if I loose the craft, I will be able to find it again. I had a nice $300 drone and when I lost it, the whole screen went dead on my phone including the GPS coordinance.