Naze32 Fails to Communicate with Cleanflight

Na1577

To start, I am very new with flight controllers. I recently purchased a Naze32 Rev5 board from amazon. I downloaded all of the latest drivers as well as Cleanflight version 2.1.0 for Windows. After a lot of trouble, I shorted the bootloader pins and successfully flashed version 2.1.0 for NAZE on cleanflight. After clicking connect, I got the error message "No configuration received within 10 seconds, communication failed." Thinking version 2.1.0 was unstable, I successfully flashed version 2.0.5 for NAZE, but got the same result as before.

I am connecting the Naze32 board to my PC with a micro USB cable, which appears as COM 3. While connected to the PC, the blue bootloader light is active, as well as the other LEDs blinking frequently. I haven't soldered any pins onto the board, so I don't think I am short circuiting. If there is any information that could help me figure out why the board cannot be connected, please help me out.

Could it be a board malfunction? If so, are there any other newer boards that you guys could recommend that are user friendly and accept PPM input?

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
I do love my Naze32 rev5 on my WarpQuad. At one time I had 6 copters running those boards.

What PC OS are you using and does your OS recognize the board? I.E. if it's Windows you should hear a chime when you connect the USB.

If not, did you reboot your PC after installing the CP210x driver?

Your questions are common if not frustrating. Most likely there is a simple fix.

Na1577

Thanks for the quick reply! I am using Windows. Where exactly should I go to make sure that Windows is recognizing the board?

cranialrectosis

Mentor
Device manager.