New Member from Cincinnati - First plane questions

timhypo

Packet Wrangler
So, I'm new to R/C Planes, but spent my pre-driver's license days racing off-road buggies - everything from the lowly Grasshopper to a JRX2 to a Kyosho Burns. The latter is a 4wd nitro powered buggy that went like 50MPH. So, I at least have the inherent left and right are relative to the direction the vehicle is pointed thing down. Anyway, I always wanted to get into R/C Flying, but in 1990, it was EXPENSIVE. I looked at it last-year but got distracted until I found flite-test. You guys rule. I've always been into open-source and DIY type stuff and believe most Americans BUY way too much crap. I've also been in DIY punk/garage/surf bands for almost 20 years now and toured extensively under our own budget and FT reminds me of both the open source and DIY music movement. You guys have taken something in which there's always been a daunting learning curve at the beginning and made it much more simple and accessible. You also made it affordable and your videos make me believe I can build something that flies and fix it when I break it - I broke enough O/R cars to know this - I think I made Kyosho's quarterly numbers the year I started taking my Burns to the BMX track just in replacement front A-Arms alone.