Newbie intimidated by all the FAA regulation with questions

hewhowalks

I'm an extreme newb, but I've been spending some time on the simulator, building my FT Tiny Trainer (it's going well) and researching this hobby to death. I've always wanted to make the leap. The one thing holding me back now is all I hear about FAA regulations.

Anyway, I live in Springfield, MO. It has a modest sized commercial airport that is more than 5 miles from where I want to fly (which is a big park with lots of space and not a lot of people). There's is, however, a small, privately owned public use airport about four miles away. This small airport doesn't have it's own air traffic control tower so I don't know the correct way to notify them as per FAA regulation. Has anyone successfully contacted an ATC and what was their response? Would I have to call them every time I wanted to fly my little trainer at the park?

There is an AMA airplane club nearby, but I'm not interested in paying AMA fees plus their $150 yearly fee to be a member to fly my little foam plane. Hopefully I'll fall in love with the hobby and go that direction, but I'm just not there yet. There is another large park near the AMA club that's outside any airport no-fly zones, but I feel that flying close to other RC activity would be much more disastrous than my original location. I'll be using a channel hopping 2.4 ghz radio, so maybe I'm wrong (I've been trying to digest all of this information...)

I'm rambling... Here's my question: Do I try to fly my little foam plane four miles from the tower-less airport without notification? I realize that I'd probably not get caught, but I'm in a law enforcement career and I just want to do the right thing.

Last edited:

Winglet

Dear Newbie,