PIDC 1 Issue: Quad wont flip in Rate Mode

anglovirtual

Hi all,

I'm a newb on here (1st post) and fairly new to multi rotors, but not RC in general.

I'm having an issue with my Emax Nighthawk Pro 280 quadcopter that I could do with some help with.

Since I bought it I have been flying using PIDC 0 in Acro/Rate mode. The quad flys ok (if you can call PIDC 0 'ok' in general!), but I didn't like the oscillations I was getting once I stated to increase roll/pitch rates.

Yesterday I decided to switch to PIDC 1 to get a more 'locked in' feel that people talk about with that. The quad flies fine in this mode and does feel a lot more locked in vs PIDC 0, but I now have one BIG issue:

In Acro/Rate mode the quad wont do flips/rolls anymore! Its like its somehow in Horizon mode again (yuck!), and I cant seem to work out why ??

My PIDC 1 settings in Cleanflight with a stock Nighthawk Pro running 3S are:
(P, I, D settings are left at default)
Roll Rate: 1.0
Pitch Rate: 1.0
Yaw Rate: 0.0
TPA: 0.00
TPA Breakpoint: 1500
Throttle MID: 0.50
Throttle Expo: 0.00
RC Rate: 0.10
RC Expo: 0.00

I'd be really grateful for any help on what I'm doing wrong.
Thanks!

razor02097

Rogue Drone Pilot
Check your modes tab. Make sure horizon mode is either off or on a switch where the range is set only when the switch is active.

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor
Yah, my guess is that you're actually in angle mode. I know that you can still flip/roll in horizon mode if you full stick it. As soon as you center though, it'll level out. Yah, I've been caught in the past with having a mode inadvertently set either with the TX programming or in the cleanflight config. Welcome to the forums!

anglovirtual

Thanks for the welcome and advice.
I'm pretty sure its not a setting in my TX as I switched back to PIDC 0 when I was having the issues and I could flip and roll no problem.