Refurbish of Carl Goldberg Sky Tiger (Build Log)

TexMechsRobot

Posted a thousand or more times
I was given an airframe that is pretty much intact. It needs some work on the monokote covering which should be a good introduction to the process for me since it doesn't have many (if any) compound curves. I'm pretty new to the hobby and have only flown an RTF Hobbyzone 3ch super cub. I intend to build a swappable as my second plane to learn some building techniques and "graduate" to a 4ch low wing.

The airframe I was given is fairly large (no measurements taken yet but I'm guessing the wingspan is about 6-7 feet) and was originally a gas powered craft. it still has the fuel tubing and such in place.

My question is: how do I figure out the appropriate engine size, prop size, servo size, battery size, etc. to convert this to an electric flyer? I'm sure you'll need more information from me to help me make this assessment so ask your clarifying questions and I'll do my best to answer them :)

Thanks in advance for your help!

Last edited:

BobK

Banned
Can you post pics so we can figure out what it is? Then some specs on the model can be figured out.

TexMechsRobot

I'll do that as soon as I get home from work. I'm thinking I should attempt to weigh it as well. I'll have to use a bathroom scale so it won't be super precise but should get it in the ball-park.

BobK

Banned
If we can figure out what it is then we can find the specs and weight etc but yeah give it a quick weigh on the bathroom scale anyway. I assume you don't know what it is or the name? I get a little giddy when someone posts that they found or was given an old plane, half the fun is figuring out what it is and the cond. :)

TexMechsRobot