Remote Rx install, help please

Fujimo

So this is my first build, I have the aura 5 and a remote Rx with the small antennae
Is there a special way to install the antennae.
1.Must the antennae by upright?
Or do you just stick it in a suitable place and tape or hot glue the antennae so that it’s secure.
2.The aura is to be installed flat and level I assume. But in the pic below, does the receiver gonin the aura where I have it positioned?
3. Can I extend the leads of a 35 amp esc, by cutting, soldering and shrink tubing the joints.
The ESC is going to be up in the nacelle behind the motor, but the battery is a little way away.
All help is appreciated!

DC867FBA-25FA-4B29-AE0D-E54369796614.jpeg

Last edited:

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
...Must the antennae by upright?...
No the antenna can be in any orientation. If you have a Rx with 2 antennas, they should be 90 degrees apart.

FYI: The antenna is the silver wire at the end. The grey part is the antenna lead. The antenna lead we don't care about, it can be any length, can be bent, burred in carbon fiber.

The antenna we care about, is must be a specific length, it must be fairly straight, keep it away from (1-2 inches) carbon fiber, anything metallic or electronic.

...Or do you just stick it in a suitable place and tape or hot glue the antennae so that it’s secure...
No, keep the antenna free. In a crash, the last thing you want is the Rx being stopped by the antenna. This will likely damage the lead. The damage most likely will occur as the lead passes through the case. It will cause a small nick in the shielding, this lets in unwanted radio signal and will cut your range. This can be repaired by cutting off the damaged part and soldering the lead back onto the Rx.

...Can I extend the leads of a 35 amp esc, by cutting, soldering and shrink tubing the joints...