• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Should I get a Ventus as my first real plane?

Hi i'm fairly new to R/C flight, and want to get a Hobbyking Ventus to be used as a trainer. Is this a good idea if I disable the ailerons, flaps & landing gear until I get more experience? The reason I want this plane is so when I get enough flight time I can enable some of the more advanced features.

Also is there a max weight I can put on the ventus? Thinking about a live FPV camera/system.

Also considering the Radian Pro with same settings as i said above.

Does anyone know of a way/place to get the radian pro + a decent TX/RX with lots of features like this + shipping to this zip for under $220? "19047 PA"

Last edited:

pgerts

Old age member
Mentor
I do not think that the Ventus is a great first real plane and you should not disable the ailerons and other things.
Try to get a Radian Standard - not the Pro if you want a plane as a trainer.
None of those planes are the best for FPV.

I'm a big fan of the AXN Floater Jet, aka Clouds Fly. It's a great plane to learn on and grow with. Purchasing a first plane needs quite a few "acessories" as well. Search the forums for Colorex's thread about when he was shopping for his first plane. I and others posted several ideas for what he should purchase. I think he ended up getting a Bixler... also a good/fun plane.

lobstermash

Propaganda machine
Mentor