Souther MD Airfields?

C130CrewChief

Greetings,

I'm working in southern Maryland in Charles County and looking for a place to fly. I've seen a flying club online that gets together at a local school and owns a field, I'm just not sure of the club atmosphere/operations.
My background is very little with the hobby, small indoor Airhogs, some fixed pitch heli, nothing major. I am really getting a kick out of scratch building with my son but no where to test out our builds. When it comes to work, or life in general I am never ashamed to ask for help, however I'm am having reservations on joining a club.
Just the thought of being teathered to someone else or hovered over like a child pushes me further from joining. Paying dues to access an area is fine, Ive done it for hunting, shooting, motocross, ect.... But only going with another "exsperienced person or trainer" doesn't set with me well, I'm at the mercy of their schedule. I know I will crash regardless, and I'll have to rebuild things and I'm fine with that, and I am a grownup if I start doing something unsafe I know when to stop and can handle the consoqueses of my actions.
Does this sound out of place to anyone? And if anyone's a member I would love to hear about it and bring my son out to see some real flying, lol not crashing after takeoff.

Thanks

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor