Suggestions for an upgradable beginner quad.

Tench745

Master member
It does have an airfoil to it, but, just looking at it I think it'll be ok. If you draw a line from nose to tail along the center of the chord the quad will be tipped forward at a good angle. Of course, I'm new to quads and this is just my first attempt at a body. I'm thinking a formed PET bottle canopy would be lighter than fiberglass, durable, and easily duplicated. That is where my future canopy efforts will be directed.

Tench745

Master member
Brief update on my future floor wax on fiberglass test. Don't do it. It goes on thin, requires multiple coats with dry time between, and stays very flexible. If that's what you're looking for, maybe do it. It didn't seem to add significant strength though it adheres well. On my small sample the glass cloth tore at the break in the foam before it unstuck. Might be useful for hinge reinforcements.

Tench745

Master member
It's probably silly to dredge up this dead thread and hope for a response, but I'm wondering about the current state of drone tech.

I haven't flown this in quite some time. I could control it just fine in auto-level, but got spooked whenever I went into angle mode. I have an FPV camera and blocky foam goggles, but I never felt comfortable enough to try FPV with it.
I know there have been some fundamental changes to the programming/flight controller side of things since 2015. Can anyone fill me in on what I've missed?
I think I'd like to update my little ZMR250 as best I can, but I don't necessarily want to have to buy new hardware other than putting a FrSky reciever on it instead of the orange Rx.

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
@Tench745 Hey mate. there are things you can do to make it fly better then it does. Tuning methods have been refined more and is pretty easy to walk someone thru it. There are things you can do like soft mount the flight controller to isolate the vibrations from such an old set up.