Swappable Super Cub(ish) Trainer - Super easy flying!

jedisalad

Mad Scratch Builder
All right kids, the time has come. We're up to 10 versions now and I think this thing is finally ready to make public.

I've been flying RC for about 3 months, and so far everything has been Flite Test planes. Granted, I'm still a noob, but never-the-less, I wanted to try my hand at scratch building something that I designed myself. Lately it seems everyone is building cargo planes, so I made a cub variant instead. I also have a lot of younger nieces and nephews, and wanted something they could fly with me (on a buddy box if necessary).

Some details about the build:

It's 2 sheets of Dollar Tree foam board.
4 Channel (in tail dragger config), 5 chl (in trike config, if you want steerable nose wheel).
Uses typical FT swappable power pod and parts (I cut mine short so it fits better, and cuts down on weight).
15 oz (without battery)
36" wing span
22" fuselage (if you count the ele/rud sticking out the back)
Probably possible to set up as tail-dragger, or with tricycle gear.
I like to run a NTM 28/26 1200kv slinging a 7x6 APC SF prop (powers it great and nothing even gets warm). I use the 18A plush ESC and the typical FT favorite 9g cheap blue servos.
Decorated with Tape Brothers red and black packing tape and a bunch of random decals i download and printed on regular paper and affixed with 3M spray adhesive.