T six or 9x

Noob

The 9x receiver does fit in my MXP 230. However, I am not fond of the 9x for 250 quad setup and the basic programming can be difficult and limiting. I have had a 9x for the last 3 years and it has been a great radio for me but as I am just getting into 250 quads and have had troubles with the 9x I am now looking for a different radio. See my post from yesterday for more details. http://forum.flitetest.com/showthread.php?18814-New-Transmitter-Decision-Help

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor
If you get the 9X you will be strongly encouraged to get an OrangeRX or FrSky module with it because the stock module will require you use bulky receivers that don't have failsafes. I have never used the Orange T-six, but it will allow you to use very small receivers with failsafe such as the lemon satellites. Not sure how good the programmability of the t-six is but I've heard the 9X flashed with OpenTX or ER9X is good. If you have some extra cash you can even invest now in a FrSky Taranis which will probably satisfy your hobby needs for a long time.

ZoomNBoom

The stock firmware of a 9x is all but unusable for multirotors. The RF module and receivers are crap. But a 9x with a frsky module and flashed with opentx/er9x is like a "taranis light". Fewer channels, dials and switches than a taranis, no voice (biggy imo) and limited telemetry functionality, but still extremely programmable and quite a decent radio for multirotors, especially if you use OSD. Problem is that flashing isnt easy, to put it mildly.

Another option would be the 9XR Pro, which solves most of the problems of the 9x (already runs opentx, has audio and telemetry) and is still cheaper. But I find you sacrifice a fair amount of functionality and quality compared to the taranis, for a modest financial gain.