The Total Newby Experience

Dodger

I apologize for the length of the rant but i'm starting from the beginning which started with winning a $200 visa gift card from a trivia night i had no intetion of going to untill i kidnapped by some friends. Decided i wanted to finally experiment with RC multi-rotors and so the story begins. Ordered an FPV 250 Racer (PNF) from RCTimer and the various other supplies from Hobby King. LiPos, a Turnigy 9XR Pro, FrSky 2.4gHz module and reciever, etc etc. eventually everything comes in and i get down to setting up my flight controller and testing my ESCs.

The frustrations begin.

One of my motors is stuttering and the ESC is heating up rapidly and intensely. So after some research i discover that bad solder joints ca cause symptoms like this so i get to work. resoldered everything and in the process the stuttering never stops, the signal wires break free so those needed to be reoldered and eventually (likely from me applying to much heat to the signal pads which are directly behind the IC on the other side) it ceases to work period. SO this all happens the day before I go on leave back home in New Orleans.

I decide i'm going to take everything with me to New Orleans with the hopes that in a bigger city comes hobby shops and hopefully that means someone has some 30A ESCs and to of course purchase some needed things like a LiPo charging bag and an appropriately sized 3S LiPo for my radio.