What do you 3D print?

mdcerdan

Elite member
I am considering the purchase of a 3d printer, an Ender 3 Pro. Not interested in printing whole planes, I can do it cheaply with styrofoam and wood but to make small parts like control horns, servo trays, nose cones, etc. But I want to know what do you guys (and gals) use your 3d printers for? Are cheap entry level 3d printers any good? What filament material do you use?
I am a machinist, I can do a lot of stuff in my milling machine and lathe but this 3d printing stuff is new to me.

the rc project

I am considering the purchase of a 3d printer, an Ender 3 Pro. Not interested in printing whole planes, I can do it cheaply with styrofoam and wood but to make small parts like control horns, servo trays, nose cones, etc. But I want to know what do you guys (and gals) use your 3d printers for? Are cheap entry level 3d printers any good? What filament material do you use?
I am a machinist, I can do a lot of stuff in my milling machine and lathe but this 3d printing stuff is new to me.
I have an old anycubic i3 and I’ve made all kinds of stuff. From phone stands to custom suspension landing gear. Any servo mechanism ever. I recommend going on thingiverse.com and just type whatever you can think in the search bar. I only use pla and have found the quality of the plastic makes a big difference.
note: I use CURA to slice and Onshape for free CAD design software, it’s a great entry level way to get into cad if you dont wanna pay for it.

2jujube7

I use CURA to slice and Onshape for free CAD design software, it’s a great entry level way to get into cad if you dont wanna pay for it.
I agree with you there. CURA and Onshape are both free, and Onshape can be accessed from any computer.