What is a good beginner RTF fixed wing kit?

tkarferrari

Was wondering what you guys think are good beginner fixed wing planes that one could grow into. I would like to be able to purchase it as a RTF kit , because I am very new at this hobby. I also don't want to spend a whole lot. Is there anything under $100 that would fit my criteria? I have been doing some research and came up with these kits. Please tell me what you think and if there's a different kit you would prefer.

Cox Hobbies Sky Ranger EP RTF

Hobby Zone Duet RTF

Flyzone Micro Playmate RTF

joshuabardwell

Mentor
Of the three, I would suggest the Sky Ranger. I don't like the body style of the Duet, and the dual engines seems like it's just asking for trouble. The Playmate has a similar body style to the Ranger, but has a little smaller wingspan. A smaller, lighter plane is going to be harder to fly in the wind. The Ranger also has a 2S battery instead of the Playmate's 1S, which will give more power and longer flight times.

jetpackninja

More combat please...
Mentor
I don't recommend the Playmate. I had two of them and returned them both. Not a durable piece of kit.
Not familiar with the other two planes.

stay-fun

Helicopter addict
I'd agree with joshuabardwell. The duet is really really light and will have some trouble with wind.

I really like your first post on this forum, you've done your research! Welcome and let us know which one you eventually choose (in the end it's your choice, not ours ;) ) and how the first flight goes!

Freaky_1

old headcase
Wow. I've got the Duet and am constantly surprised by what it can take. There's only one control surface (elevator) and uses differential thrust for yaw.
I've honestly only flown it a few times, but as I hand it over to most anyone wanting to try flight, it has many hours and more crashes than I could count.

I hope to add another and two champs for the same purpose.