What is something would have liked to known starting out?

ithink2020

I'm just starting out. Well, again, but been away for 25+ years and never soloed..successfully... So, what is something(s) you would have liked to know, when you were just starting out?

bisco

Elite member
what is the least expensive way to get into the hobby, to find out if you enjoy it, and learn to fly.

i went through some expensive rtf's because i had no clue until i found rcgroups. and even then, there are so many opinions as to how to go about getting started.

unfortunately, many roads lead to the same destination, and until you get there, you don't know which would have been best for you.

i could easily have saved a thousand dollars, and still be where i am today, after 18 months.

even then, there are many shiny alluring airplanes that i am still attracted to, but shouldn't buy.

for me, knowing what i know now, i probably should have started with a hobbyzone sport cub abd dx6e tx, or maybe an eflite umx turbo timber.
spectrum safe/as3x makes learning and flying so much easier, and crashes much more preventable.

the best thing would have been an instructor, but covid has prevented that so far.

Bricks

Master member
Get and use a good simulator before anything else. The last time I had flown RC was using rubberband actuators and a transmitter with one button. If you have a club near by go there and talk to the people there about equipment what they use, they may even have a club plane you can fly with an instructor. Buying equipment that others there use will make that part of the learning experience much easier.