Why are my motors getting so hot?

I am on the 6th or 7th version of my tricopter scratch build and have been trimming weight with each successive version but it seams that no mater how light i go, I'm still getting hot (cant keep your hand on them) motors after each flight. Sometimes they stay cooler if the ambient temp is cool but that is not too often in Texas.

Ive got the machine trimmed down to about 560 grams dry weight and 755 with a 2200 MaH battery. Im using MT2213-935KV MultiStar motors swinging 10 x 4.7 props. ESCs are Afro 20Amp controllers.

Im able to hover just a click under 50% throttle and this setup gives me TONS of trust and throttle response but the heat of the motors is freaking me out. Any issues with this setup?

Im new to the ideas of prop pitch and efficiency so need some guidance on this. The motors came in a motor/prop combo pack with 10 x 4.5 pitch props but i quickly changed them out for higher quality props from my local hobby shop. The replacements where 4.7 pitch... how big of a difference would this make? do i need a prop with more pitch. Are the motors working too hard because there is not enough lift per revolution?

Here is a pic of my machine before i buttoned it all up.
IMG_20141005_110931769_HDR.jpg

Thanks for any input!

rcspaceflight

creator of virtual planes
The heat is going to be from 3 possible issues. A) The "C" rating on your battery isn't high enough. B) The amp rating of the ESCs aren't high enough. C) The propeller is causing the motor to draw more amps than it can handle.

Basically the motor either isn't getting enough amps, or it's drawing too many.

Using a smaller propeller will automatically solve the issue no matter what the issue actually is. But it would be better to get a better battery or high amp ESCs if those are the real issues.