2.4Ghz FPV setups

Derrick_Miller

I am just getting into FPV and I have a 2.4Ghz radio, I jumped on the band wagon and purchased the DX7 shortly after it came out. I am now looking at getting into FPV and I don't want to give up the freedom of going to nearby parks and being able to fly. I have noticed in the flite test videos that you normally use the DX8 to fly and David uses 2.4 Ghz radio as well with 1.3Ghz video transmitter. So I naturally decide to purchase 1.3Ghz fpv system from BEVRC (1.3Ghz 400mW). I have been having some issues with my receiver locking out.

I know that there are a lot of people out there that say that it is just plain bad juju to use 2.4Ghz with FPV, but lets please keep this to setups that you have used and know work with 2.4Ghz radios.

So my question to the community is: what setups are you using with your 2.4Ghz radios?

Please provide the following:
RC Transmitter
RC Receiver
Video transmitter
Video Receiver
Low Pass Filter (yes/no)
Antennas being used
ranges that you have gone to

colorex

Rotor Riot!
Mentor
Be cautious. I think 1.3GHz is not legal in the USA. (if you are there). But only 2.4 video systems don't work with 2.4 radio systems. You'd be left with 900MHz and 5.8GHz.

Hey DM

There are a few of us down here in Australia that are using 5.8GHz for our video link. If you check out BMSWEB or me you can see how good it is.

Cheers

DM

Last edited:

Derrick_Miller

Thank you for the posts, the intent of this thread is for people to post setups that they are using with 2.4Ghz rc transmitters... I suppose 5.8 will work but what are you running? Please post link to your setup or tell about it.

Your videos look good!

Last edited:

PaulT

Mentor
Lots of info on here and other sites. Ultimately, you will have to make your own decision on what is best for you and your intended end use.
I use a Spektrum Dx6i 2.4 system and opted for a 200 mW 5.8 FPV.
Couple of caveats, though.