balsa V basswood

I'm new to planes but not to wood work. What are the pros and cons of balsa V basswood for scratch building? The plans for my Telemaster trainer should be here in three days. Looking forward to the build. I'm sure I will have a lot more questions before it's done. Woodman

earthsciteach

This is just a guess on my part, but the only drawback to basswood that I can think of is weight. Since it is stronger, you may be able to downsize members to offset that some.

Bambua

I tend to use basswood in my builds in specific areas where more strength is needed, landing gear blocks, servo rails things like that. Between balsa bass spruce and plywood they all have their uses. Usually the plans you are using will call out what type you are supposed to use for a specific area/use.

AkimboGlueGuns

Biplane Guy
Mentor
Balsa=Lighter and more flimsy. Good for building complex structures which require bends and curves in the wood. Also good for sheeting and wing building.

Bass wood= Stronger and more rigid. Good for reinforcements and hard points. Most people use bass wood to sheet spars to keep them strong and light weight. I believe the most common use is the hard point for landing gear.

Good luck with all your future builds, and I hope this helps.

Thanks for the input guys (can i still say guys or is that sexist?) Kinda follows my line of thought as far as strength V weight and I know bass is easy to work with and still fairly light.

Why only plans for the Telemaster? I didn't know that Hobby Express had a plans only option? I know they have a plans/ribs option, but not a plans alone. I know for just the plans, you can get them for free on outerzone.

The Telemaster is a GREAT plane! My Sr. Telemaster is one of my favorites. With a 4 stroke 90 on the nose it will jump off the ground in about 2 feet with the flaps fully deployed.

I have several sets of plans I have printed from Outerzone, and a short kit waiting to be built.