Beginner Series - A Transmitter focused episode

mindymoo

Hi guys,

Just curious if there's going to be a Transmitter focused episode in the new "Beginner Series". I'm just curious, as I'm looking seriously at the "Bixler 2" and I'm not sure whether to go with the Mode 1 or Mode 2 Transmitter setup. That plus as I'm still a newbie to flying, it'd be nice to have a proper video resource on this.

Some possible areas that such an episode could cover:

What are the positives and negatives of either Transmitter Mode setup?

Is it easier to learn on one Transmitter Mode rather than the other?

What's the range of most stock Transmitters?

What are the do's and don'ts of Transmitter care?

Transmitters are an investment as well, so what's the best way to safely store them when not in use?

What are the do's and don'ts of Transmitter use and ettiqutte both while on the ground and flying?

RoyBro

Mentor
I think that feature sets for different price ranges would be helpful. For instance, what can we expect with Hobby King's $30 transmitter, vs. $50-$100 transmitters like the Turnigy and Orange. $100-$200 like the Taranis, $200-$500 and $500+. It should cover number of channels, programability, flashing, telemetry, etc.

The difference in modes is more a regional preference. In the US, for instance, we mostly use Mode 2. But there is nothing stopping us from using Mode 1, 3 or 4 if that's what we prefer.

Regardless, I'm sure they already have a plan for the remainder of the beginner series. But it never hurts to ask.

pgerts

Old age member
Mentor
If you live in an area with other flyers - go with the same mode as they use. It is hard to get help / buddy, trimming etc if you use different setups. That is one reason i suggest first (beginner) radio to be a Futaba or Spektrum. You will find those brands used by many flyers in most clubs.

rcspaceflight

creator of virtual planes