broken props

levigabel

so, i have no experience flying what so ever, so i bought a tiny trainer with all of the proper electronics thinking that it would be a good trainer, but i have only gotten about 3 minuets of flight time over 5 attempts to fly, and about 4 weeks, because every time i try to fly i end up breaking a prop after about 15 seconds, and then having to order more. is there a good pusher airframe that would work with powerpack A ? Or should i get a folding prop ?

luvmy40

Elite member
The FT Explorer is meant for a B Pack but might fly on the A Pack. You could also download the plans and scale it down a bit.

Foamforce

Warning that the prop saver doesn’t work on threaded motor, which the A pack has.

The biggest thing is to remember to cut the motor before you land. That takes some practice. Another thing that helps is to turn on your ESC brake. Some people disagree that this helps, but it seems to work for me.

Of course, if you crash nose-first into the ground, nothing much is going to help with that.

JDSnavely

Try using APC style props. They are a bit heavier & less prone to breakage.

+1 on the Explorer if you want to try a different plane.
Tiny Trainer is a family favorite. I've broken cheap props on a perfect landing, throttle cut in tall grass. The prop just happened to be in the wrong position when landing. APC props or these drone props won't break very often, even in crashes. I don't think we have broken any of the three bladed. The only APC blade we broke was straight into the ground from 100 feet. Get 3 bladed poly carbonate here. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XGHYKLB/?tag=lstir-20 (Good value even if you don't use the clockwise ones.)

levigabel

The FT Explorer is meant for a B Pack but might fly on the A Pack. You could also download the plans and scale it down a bit.

if the explorer would run very slowly on powerpack A, that would be awesome!