Greetings, and a request for aide in my pursuit of understanding flight

tedbyers

Hi,

A bit about myself: I have flown multirotors for a little over a year, but my science background extends back decades, for most of which I worked in the private sector (largely in software engineering and applied math). I do have an interest, and a degree, in education, which makes this site of particular interest. I want to learn about fixed wing aircraft, and ultimately want to get into VTOL aircraft.

Let me begin by asking three questions.

My first question involves my seeking advice on the science of flight, and the impact, if any, of scaling. To what extent do the physics of aircraft scale, or perhaps change as a result of scale. I ask because I have a number of physical handicaps that make it difficult for me to get outside into an area large enough to permit use of say park fliers. In other words, are there good, scientific reasons that a functional, fixed wing aircraft can not be made that is the size of a Blade Inductrix, as can be bought from Hobby Horizon, and thus be flown indoors (like the paper airplanes I made many, MANY decades ago as a youth)? I repeat, my background is in the hard sciences, including plenty of math (i.e. mostly math and life sciences), although I have only begun to look at flight recently, so feel free to point me to good, relevant science and engineering references as I am sure I can 'eventually' understand them.