How much Quality do you need for Noobs to fly foam?

WhatDoesThisButtonDo

There is a GREAT RC shop in town, they cover it all. Planes, boats, helies, RTF, ARTF, balsa, all the parts you can look at, all the elecs, batts, craft gifts for kids ets and know their stuff. I told them what I was doing and they guided me. I even applied for a part time gig there over the holidays etc so I could learn more (I'm 45), but do not mind doing skut work for the discount.

They advise me to the good motors and metal gear servos (the $12 each ones x 4). For a foam built one, instead of the $2 each ones on eBay. I also have a work college who has built 9 RC planes, and said "All 9 are hanging up in a tree somewhere". I was planning on going the swap-able model type to have two sets of motors, one set of Rx, two sets of ESCs and a bunch of servos to add to various models, but if you lose them all to a tree, what is the point. Noob here.

I understand quality is better, but I figure most of my first models are going to either:
(a) smashed up on the ground (ok if I get the bits back)
(b) lost over the horizon (my fault)
(c) stuck up a tree and still lost, with $200 of bits inside it.

I've built a NutBall as my sacrificial lamb with lots of reinforcement for when it smacks into the ground and flies to bits before I fly a Stork or something else, just the elecs and motors bother me. I don't mind buying props. Spekrum DX7 Tx.

Any advice chaps? -- WhatDoesThisButtonDo

Last edited:

TEAJR66

Flite is good
Mentor
Fly the cheap stuff till higher performance becomes a factor. If you don't know the difference or cant perceive an appreciable difference, higher end components are just more money.

Timmy P