Help! Jim Young DH.88 build

SprncerT

I recently purchased a DH.88 kit designed by Jim Young. The plane’s beautiful appearance and fascinating history has stunted me to the point of buying the kit. It’s nothing too special... 50” wingspan, twin engine balsa kit. The only problem is that I am fairly new to building balsa planes. With only one other kit under my belt I’m a little afraid that I have bit off more than I can chew. The plans look great and the build instructions seem like they would satisfy an experienced builder. But there are a few things I am clueless on, like sheeting the wings and fuselage. If anyone has any general info that can help me, or if anyone has built this kit, please let me know.
5E093655-FBA1-44D6-9140-63B8B34138A3.jpeg

Link to Kit

OliverW

Legendary member
I recently purchased a DH.88 kit designed by Jim Young. The plane’s beautiful appearance and fascinating history has stunted me to the point of buying the kit. It’s nothing too special... 50” wingspan, twin engine balsa kit. The only problem is that I am fairly new to building balsa planes. With only one other kit under my belt I’m a little afraid that I have bit off more than I can chew. The plans look great and the build instructions seem like they would satisfy an experienced builder. But there are a few things I am clueless on, like sheeting the wings and fuselage. If anyone has any general info that can help me, or if anyone has built this kit, please let me know. View attachment 138066

Link to Kit
While I haven't built this kit, I can recommend just send it! Follow the instructions close to heart and you can't go wrong.

SprncerT

The instructions are decent. Not as detailed as I would like them to be. They are very vague on the electronics placement although the plans provide a little more information on them. I will post some pictures of what I have done so far soon.

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor