Look What Arrived Friday!

P40VRP

Received the FT P-40 kit Friday that my daughter ordered for me. Now mind you I have never built a RC airplane before nor soloed a RC plane (buddy boxed a few times but my buddy moved away). I plan to start with a tiny trainer, scout, or explorer first but since I am a P-40 freak and I saw the FT P-40 brown kit said limited quantities, I had my daughter order this kit before they ran out.

I have read probably 20 books on the "Flying Tigers" and the Curtis P-40 in combat in Burma, China, Africa, the Mediterranean, and the Pacific. I just completed reading "Into the Teeth of the Tiger" by Donald S. Lopez (an excellent book) and I plan to paint the P-40 based on Lopez's P-40 he flew with the 75th Squadron of the 23rd Fighter Group of the 14th Air Force in China. A photo of "Lope's Hope" is attached. This plane hangs in the Smithsonian although it is not Lopez's actual plane it is a P-40E that was restored as "Lope's Hope" #194. Lopez was Assistant Director of the Smithsonian National Aeronautical Museum after he retired from the USAF. I have included a photo of his book that can still be found new on Amazon (revised printing 1997).

Ryan O.

Out of Foam Board!
Received the FT P-40 kit Friday that my daughter ordered for me. Now mind you I have never built a RC airplane before nor soloed a RC plane (buddy boxed a few times but my buddy moved away). I plan to start with a tiny trainer, scout, or explorer first but since I am a P-40 freak and I saw the FT P-40 brown kit said limited quantities, I had my daughter order this kit before they ran out.