Need to lift 20 pounds of aircraft in the air

kevparang

I am doing a competition with my friends can anyone help me make a plane the is 20 pounds. I am an intermediate pilot. I have tools and a 3D Printer.

wilmracer

I build things that fly (sometimes)
Mentor
Are you talking about a plane to lift 20lbs, or a plane that is over 20lbs? 20lbs is actually not THAT heavy when you get to larger planes.

What are the rules for your competition?

kevparang

Okay, so the weight of the plane is 20 LB it is not lifting anything. I will probably use a heavy battery and some weights. They rules are the plane has to fly for 20 minutes, does not need to do acrobatics. If needs to be at least 5 feet wingspan, and 1 foot height. Max 7 feet wingspan and 5 feet high. The Plane must be at least 20 LB it cannot be more than 30 LB. It has to glide for 30 seconds.

mybad

I need to make it for $50, that is one rule too.

... for the airframe, I assume.

Is the object of the competition to simply BUILD something within those specs, or are you competing for time, distance, or whatever?

Well, as a starting point, I plugged some numbers into WEBOCALC and came up with the following.

20 lb total weight
7 foot wingspan
20 inch chord
Gentle scale flight of 20 minutes

here is one solution ...

Exceptional Outrunner motor 180 kv
10S 8000 battery
47 amp used (use 60 amp ESC)
21/14 prop

84 watts/lb
27.4 oz/ft2

gives 250 oz thrust for gentle scale flight
stall speed 26mph
cruise speed 64 mph
15-26 minute flight depending on throttle use

Good Luck!

Last edited:

Fluburtur

Cardboard Boy
You would probably be better making a competition of making the smallest plane with standard size stuff (35mm motor and 1300mah battery and 9g servos)
Now, that would be interesting because it would get a pretty high wing loading.

kevparang

Well then I would have to tell my friends to change the rules with me. Now this is some thinking because of the wind shape....

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT