Newbie, What Radio?

Alvaro

Hi Guys, I am a newbie and love your videos,
I need advice on a decent radio. I just bought a Hobbyking ASK-21 EP, EPO (PNF), and need a 4-6 Channel Transmitter and Receiver + a 3S 11.1V 1300-2200mAh Lipoly Battery.
I am totally lost here, could you give me a recommendation for something decent and not very expensive?

Thank you

c172ae

Pro plane crasher
In my experience, you should buy a radio which can grow with you and controll larger planes later on. I would recomend the Turnigy 9X. It is 9-channel, programmeable and only 60 bucks.

Bolvon72

Mentor
I second the 9X for an inexpensive radio. Don't pass up on the backlight kit if you get it.

Before I get all nutty talking about the radio, Turnigy lipos are cheap and of good quality. You can get them through hobbyking.com. Now for the radio question.

I am trying out both the 9X and 9XR side by side and prefer the 9XR for ease of programming and build. Its $10 cheaper but you are going to have to drop an extra 30 or so for a module and $6 or more for a receiver. So $60 plus shipping for the 9X, $86+ for the 9XR. You would also have to pick up a lipo for the 9XR but they are comparable to the 8AA needed for the 9X.

The 9X comes with an Rx and is ready to go, so it is simple, but I find the user interface annoying to use and the buttons are iffy. It has an 8 model memory which fills up quickly. It has two position dual rates and the ability to set switches. It is very hard to see the screen indoors. (Why I mentioned the backlight kit) Simply put, it will fly planes right out of the box.