Simple Storch rolling left

Peters.presto20

Im new with this but I know how to fly because I have flown my teachers before and that went well. I just built my first kit the Simple Storch. I went out to fly MANY times. I noticed something. Every time we went to fly (with no wind, lots of wind and some wind) I would get ready to take off make sure everything worked and then I would take off. When I took off it would go nose up and then roll left A LOT and then would go nose down and hit the ground. (It was only 2-4 feet off the ground before it started going nose down.) I have been trying to figure out and what is going on with the plane. Any advice or suggestions will help.

Thanks,
Preston

Pieliker96

Elite member
Have you built any right/down thrust angle into the power pod? It tends to help power to pitch coupling and the left-turning tendencies (p-factor, prop torque, slipstream, and gyroscopic precession)

Ketchup

4s mini mustang
The storch seems like a pretty big plane to be affected by thrust angle that much though... I have made smaller and lighter planes with no thrust angle that flew fine (on a power pack C). I think that OP is pulling up too much and too soon. The wing isn't going fast enough, so the plane stalls and the motor torque makes the left wing dip.
I would recommend throttling up and letting the tail rise, after this happens, just keep the plane going straight on the ground and it should just take off on its own, maybe add in a tiny bit of elevator if it doesn't.

Peters.presto20

The storch seems like a pretty big plane to be affected by thrust angle that much though... I have made smaller and lighter planes with no thrust angle that flew fine (on a power pack C). I think that OP is pulling up too much and too soon. The wing isn't going fast enough, so the plane stalls and the motor torque makes the left wing dip.