The Buddy Box Conundrum

I come seeking more advice from those wiser than I.

The setup- My girlfriend surprised the heck out of me this evening when I was talking about flying and seemed unusually interested. I asked her if she wanted to learn how to fly and her response was "Absofrikkinloutly!" Well ok then!

Here is the Conundrum. I'm not an experienced flyer. I self taught on a Champ and do OK. However I would still like to be able to teach her how to fly with a buddy box to remove the stress and some of the crashes that I went through when I was learning. To do that I'm considering multiple options.

1. Get 2 new Spektrum radios for the Champ and learn on it. (I only have the stock radio for the Champ, with no buddy box capability on the Spektrum side)

2. Use my Tactic 650 as master, buy a TTX 404 or 600 as slave and a different beginner suitable plane.

3. Some unknown option

Each has it's pro's and cons
If I go with Tactic, I have wireless training and a radio I'm already familiar with. But then I have to find a suitable plane.

If I go with Spektrum I have to buy 2 new radios (or wait for the DX9) But then I could use my Champ which is an excellent trainer plane.

Money is a consideration but I could afford either option.

Which way would ya'all go? (I also posted this on RC Groups so forgive me if you have read it over there

Last edited:

earthsciteach

Wish I could help you on this, but I have not buddy box experience. I'm very interested to see the replies as we are resurrecting the RC Flight Club this year.

There have been some good replies over on RC Groups...I'll put up a summary of what others have said over there.
(I cross posted to get as many different opinions as possible)

Wait to get a Spektrum DX9 when it becomes available. Spektrum does seem to be the most popular system and a DX9 could buddy box ANY Spektrum radio. From my little stock Champ radio, all the way up to a DX18 if you wanted to prank someone. :black_eyed: