Transmitter - Which to buy?

MOS

Hello all. New guy here. I am new to anything RC, but am pretty interested in building planes and multi-rotors. I received an entry level quad as a gift, and have been busily learning to fly. After many crashes, I am getting good enough to fly almost through a battery.

I've been reading online on several sites and watching a number of instructional videos.

I think I am ready to start looking at more capable equipment, but don't want to buy something that I won't be able to use. I have read that the DXe and DX6 are good entry level transmitters, but I also read about Taranis transmitters. It seems that the two are not compatible with the same planes/quads - different communication protocols or something like that.

Like everyone else, I would like to get the best bang for my bucks. So what would be the best bet for a first transmitter?

Thanks in advance.

bitogre

Can you provide more information about the planes/quads you want to use the radio with? It might help us provide a better suggestion.

But, to give you more information on the radios you have mentioned, the Taranis is not a beginner radio. The menus are not intuitive and can be intimidating. However, I love my Taranis X9D+ as it is extremely powerful and you are unlikely to out grow it. Also, the JR module bay means that it can support many different protocols. Knowing what you want to fly would help in providing you info on where to get a compatible JR Module. Or, if you really know what you are doing, you may be able to hack together your own JR module from a compatible transmitter. Also, FrSky just came out with the Taranis Q X7 which is a nice lower price radio with most of the features of the Taranis X9D+ at half the cost. Most people will not need the few things they removed from the Taranis Q X7 making it a good option.