Western Wiscosin

Bricks

Master member
I have been out of the RC hobby since 1972 and my how things have changed any one in the EauClaire Lacrosse area Flying the FT planes.

Chefinthecockpit

Bricks I am going to piggy back on your thread as I am freshly back to the sport as well. I am in the process of two builds at the moment. I have a FT Simple Storch about done and the FT Racer (Rip Slinger) version. I am really excited about how they have come together. I am putting in the electronics today and will be ready for flight this weekend. I will post pics and maybe some video on how it goes. both of these planes are swappables so I really hope that the set-up I purchased will work well with these planes. This is what i ordered for my powerpod. If anyone has any feedback on this setup I would really apreciate it. Again I am very new to electric flight. Power Up 400 Zoom 2245kv Outrunner Brushless motor, 11.1v 800mah 30C DBY-Power Lipo Battery, HURC 40 Amp Brushless Motor ESC. Thanks guys!

Chefinthecockpit (Dan B.):confused:

earthsciteach

Wow - 1972? Things certainly have changed! Cool that you are back!

Chef - HeadsupRC is one of the absolute best online vendors. Good choice! One more important bit of info is, what prop are you planning on running? The 6x3e is the sweet spot for that motor and would probably work well for the Rip Slinger if go fast is the goal. The 800mah battery is very undersized, though. I'd go with a 2200 mah, 11.1v.

The 2245 kv with 6" prop is not a good option for the Storch, I'm sorry to say. I fly this motor in mine: http://www.headsuphobby.com/Firepower-450-Sport-1100kv-Outrunner-Brushless-Electric-Motor-E-650.htm with an APC 9x4.5 prop. The FT 3D shares this motor nicely with the Storch, btw.

Bricks

Master member