200% Simple Soarer

luketheduke

I'm working on making a 200% Simple Soarer. According to my calculations, the final wingspan will be about 9.8 feet. As I'm still not an expert on foamboard airplanes, I could use a little design help.

The main problem is that the foamboard spars and foamboard fuselage, at least I think, won't stand up to the forces in flight. I'm thinking that I need to add a spar or two to the wing, and some sort of spar to the fuselage. The other problem is that the nearest flying field is about 5 miles by car from my house, so I have to be able to transport the wing in my car, which requires that it collapse into two or more pieces. The fuselage should be fine in one piece.

What's the best way to add a spar to the wings and still have them collapse into 2+ pieces?

What is the best way to sturdy up the fuselage without adding too much weight? I was thinking about using thin wall aluminum tubes to be in the wings, one in the front and one in the back, to resist wing torsion.

Any thoughts or other things to keep in mind while building this behemoth?
Thanks,
luketheduke

Montiey

Master Tinkerer
There isn't any good "flitetest-approved" method that I'm aware of for torsion resistance, but you could use an aluminum pipe/rod, and securely anchor it to the main fuse, and the back of the tail. Then, the foam board tail would basically just be superficial and the torque would be handled by the rod. However, of course, that may give you CG issues. I think you're going to have to give it a try and see what happens

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
Spoiler alert! Currently I am working on a FB prototype which has a CF spar tube that is removable as are the 2 wings.

The wings "Key" into the side of the fuselage and have locking tongues which are secured internally using either screws or pins.

The CF tube slides into a Box spar in each wing.