First Scratch Build

Minton

About a month and a half ago I ordered the FT Trainer kit along with everything else I needed to get started with RC aircraft. I had such a blast with it that I decided to try and design and build my very own plane. I'm new to flying planes but had previously modeled an RC plane for my school's Design Build Fly club, so I already had lots of experience with CAD software and the structural aspect of designing planes.

unknown.jpg

However, we ran out of time and never got to fly that one so I never really found out if I was capable of designing an airworthy plane. Compared to that 8-foot span, 20-pound monster, my little 4-foot trainer was pretty easy to design.

unknown-19.jpg

For the previous plane, I didn't have any part in the aerodynamic aspects of the design, so doing that for my own plane was a bit intimidating. I basically just designed the wing first, then figured out what the proportions of everything else had to be to match.

Since I don't own a laser cutter, I decided to hand cut all of the parts out of balsa with an Exacto knife. To ensure that I cut them accurately, I first made paper templates of all the parts and then used them as a guide when cutting the balsa. In case you were wondering, this process took about 2 weeks and was extremely tedious. I would not recommend doing this unless you have no other choice.

20220705_153506.jpg
20220710_001232.jpg
20220714_224426.jpg

To my surprise, the parts came out rather nicely and required minimal sanding to fit together. The biggest issue that I encountered during this process was that I discovered part way through that the 4"x36" sheets of balsa that I bought from Hobby Lobby were rather inconsistent. Some were extremely dense and felt almost like plywood, while others felt more like foam. Knowing this, I tried to cut any load-bearing parts from the harder balsa, and use the softer stuff for wing ribs and whatnot.