GoPro too much for my tricopter?

meehan

Hey Guys,

I am pretty new to multirotor. I built up a tricopter based on batbones frame with the following

KK2 board
20 Amp Multistar ESC
Turnigy Park 300 1080kv
9x4.7 plastic props (9047)
2200 MAh battery 3S
Orange RX

GoPro Hero 3
Immersion RC tx w/ mushroom

I have probably 20 flights on the tricopter without gopro and FPV, and I am happy with how it flies. When I put on the gopro and transmitter (immersion RC) it is almost unfliable. Tail will sag, barely hovers at 3/4 plus throttle.

I have messed with the PI settings and I have moved the weight around but I think it is just too heavy with the gopro. Even without the gopro case it is about 120 extra grams with the camera and TX.

My questions:
Does this seem right? Is it just too heavy for the motors / prop / battery?
Has anyone used the park300 1080kv with a 10 inch prop on 3 cells?
Any other suggestions on what might be wrong?

Tim

Invid

Hard to say if it's too heavy if you don't say how much it weighs :)

I flew a Turnigy Talon tricopter on SunnySKy 980kv motors on 3S and 10x4.7 props. I used 30A ESCs but I'm not sure I needed more than 20A. Flight times of just 6mins at 1250g on 3S 2200. 8-10 on 3S 4000 (1350g iirc).

That was with a full FPV setup including GoPro (uncased, but with lens protector).

Cyberdactyl

Misfit Multirotor Monkey
I have loaded my tri down to the max before. Yes, it's gets a little sluggish and unweildy and I have to be careful how fast I approach the ground, but these things will handle more than you suspect. As invid said, how much does it weigh?

There's two rules of thumb I go by. First, how much throttle does it take to hover well above the ground effect distance, above say. . . 6 feet? Second, how how are the motors and ESCs getting for a nice leisurely 5 minute flight? If you're flying when it's around 75F and they are warm, you're ok. If they are toasty to hot, you're probably pushing it.