Mini F-14 sort of

Kai-003

Alright I'm new to the FT forums so idk what I'm doing, but I made an f-14 and decided to share it with yall in case someone wants to replicate it.

It uses a Freewing 5 blade 3s 64mm edf, and a 3s 1800mah lipo. It can get 3 minutes of flight time depending on throttle use. It's wing sweep it controlled by a single servo. It is fairly easy to build. It's wingspan is about 41in out and 26in in and is 36in long. It weight about 600g, and is super stable with the wing out, and with the wings in, it rolls extremely fast. The plane is actually the same one from MESARC, but with a few modifications. It uses FT 5g servos. The CG is a little behind the one marked for forward swept wings.

You can find the original plans here: https://www.mesarc.club/aerialplans
article here: https://www.flitetest.com/articles/mf-tomcat

The modifications I made we're the following:
1. prop to edf
I didn't cut out the slot for the prop, and I instead installed an edf in between the vertical stabilizers. The edf is 2 inches back. I used the front of the vertical stabs, and drew a line, and found the centre of it, and did the same for the back. I drew a line down the middle, that served at my centre point. I cut a rectangle shaped hole 2 inches back. It was 64mm across, and 3 inches back. I then fit in the edf, and glued it in.
IMG_0083.jpg
IMG_0082.jpg
IMG_0081.jpg

2. Wing sweep
I made the wing-sweep using a single servo in the middle of the plane. It is controlled by the f switch on my dx6e.
I used the following servo: https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hobbykingtm-hk15148-analog-servo-2-5kg-0-14sec-17g.html
I got two pushrods re-inforced with bamboo skewers. They are just taped together, so it makes the pushrod stiffer.
I also put in some pieces of Popsicle sticks, with a hole in it to reinforce the wing.
The pushrods go from the servo to here:
IMG_0086.jpg

IMG_0087.jpg

Wingsweep mechanism
IMG_0085.jpg