Multi-rotor noob looking for direction

tb_and_j

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the hobby and the forums. After watching both the Flite Test videos and my buddy's FPV videos I decided to take the plunge into the hobby. I bought the Syma X-1 just to have something to get the general feel for flying a multi-rotor down, and to have something inexpensive to be able to fly into trees and the side of my house and such ;).

I was just wondering what the next step would be? I am very interested in putting together my own quad, maybe the Flite Test's Anycopter kit (with recommended electronics) but I was just wondering if this was a good next step? I have also considered picking up a simulator like RealFlite or Phoenix so that I would be able to get a Transmitter (and reciever?) with it. That way I could train indoors as well as get my first "real" transmitter.

But I don't really know what the next logical step would be though. I appreciate any feedback given and look forward to posting more stuff in the future!

-TJ

xuzme720

Dedicated foam bender
Mentor
A simulator is always a good idea. Helps build the orientation and muscle memory you'll need for flying the real thing, or for trying new things, without breaking anything.The anycopter or the knuckle quad is a good next step or anything where you can get replacement frame parts locally and for cheap. Also to consider is flying weight; the lighter you can build it, the fewer things that will break in a crash and the more time you can spend flying over repairing.

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
I too started with the Zyma. Welcome to FT!

My first build was the Anycopter. Now that FT has the Knuckle H Quad (I have one of these too), I recommend it as a first build. If you are in the US, look at the Altitude Hobbies electronics kits.